Poesia

I ought to give thee one single spineless rose

I ought to give thee one single spineless rose,

for thou, my lover, art all I need to have.

And I shall name this flow’r rose.

 

Had I to thy heart’s mysterious hall access

I would not change the name this flowers possess.

Had I the chance to offer thee one small spine

I’d doubtlessly reject: it shalt not be thine.

Flow’rs to thee! Only roses to thy smell, sight

and heart. Only spineless roses by thy side!

And if one day thou comandest me ‘Why, O

why, dost thou give me only this spineless rose?’

my lips will open by thy will and respond

‘ ‘Tis for to thee only Beauty doth belong:

harmless, heavenly Beauty thou deservest

for love thou makest and love thou harvestest.’

Dearest: be it Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall

’tis to thee the happiest, fairest bells do toll.

Magic bells that will make hear the hopeless deaf,

and make me wonder, for all I need to have

is thee, my belovèd, and thy young Beauty.

 

I ought to give thee one single spineless rose.

And thine ’twill be: reflection of thy Beauty.

I shall name thy Beauty rose.

Deixa un comentari

